Home Unreal Engine

Putting a bird in UDK?

So I'm relatively new to UDK, and I've been having some issues.

I have a bird that I have made flying, idle, and landing animations for. I have a good idea of how to link these all together in UDK in an animtree, but I would like to be able to swap out these models like in an animation or in 3ds Max. Basically, while in flight, and half of the landing animations look fine (ignoring the model and animation quality):

BirdProblemB.jpg

And then, when landing, I just clumped the wings and feathers together because this was the only thing I could think of.

And the results were horrible.

BirdProblem.jpg

I would like to know if it's possible to make another model of the bird with wings tucked in and then swap them out in UDK based on the animations being played.

If anyone knows a way to do it, or could link to any tutorials, I would greatly appreciate it. Or if this isn't even the right way to do this, or if anyone knows the right way to do it, please let me know.

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    What does the rig for this look like? What sort of controls are you using for the feathers?
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would personally model out the wings. Make them a part of the body. And on top of that i would add some feathers, maybe on the very end tips of the wings.
  • Stoop_Kid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Woah, I didn't check this...

@sprunghunt: The rig is incredibly basic, which is why it probably isn't working that well. It's just a simple bone system I thought would work, and the feathers are History Independent IK Solvers. I'll post screenshots!

BirdC.jpg

BirdD.jpg

BirdE.jpg

@Visceral: I believe that way would probably be better. I 'll try that then! Well, mostly anything would work better than this, haha.

Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate it!
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message