Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to the Polycount Scene!

Hello Everyone!

I'm a game design student close to graduating and I'm working on a project that I would really appreciate some good critique, advice and tips for. I'd say that I'm at about intermediate skill level and some concepts like baking and utilizing a professional workflow are kind of foreign to me..

That being said I'd love to hear what you guys think!

Anddd.... It seems I can't attach anything some let me figure this thing out ...

Replies

• Seth_Bales
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ok sorry guys I'll send a link to my blog in a sec.
  • Seth_Bales
  • sybrix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sybrix polycounter lvl 13
    Hey this is actually nice stuff you've got here. My main critique would be your very visible seams. Also some of your textures look like they might not be high enough resolution and are looking a bit pixelated, like the rock texture on the pillars and ground on the first screenshot.

Another issue you might want to take into consideration is how you transition one type of material into another. Usually really abrupt and harsh transitions between two materials are really noticeable to the eye. Especially with overgrown scenes, usually the grass and dirt mixes in with the stone cracks and things like ivy/moss grow up the pillars and walls. You do have a little bit of that going on but you might want to look into vertex painting or something like that to soften the transitions a bit.

The fern plant texture is looking really contrasty and out of place. It looks like there's a very dark, nearly black shadow in the texture. I'd suggest painting those black shadow parts out.

This is an awesome start though and I really dig the tree leaf texture you've got going in there!