Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

LandRaiderConversion(40KFans). PortfolioPiece.

Hey guys, I'll start off by saying this is my first attempt at doing something that I am doing purely for putting in my portfolio. I am going to try and make this the most awesome thing possible and if you feel you have any advice for me or question anything I am doing etc then feel free to say and I will reply :).

The reason why I am doing this piece in particular is because I feel it covers quite a few aspects that I think is correct for a portfolio piece (this is something I am sure many of you will probably question haha); I feel it covers some hardsurface skills which I am interested in improving, it covers what I feel are complex shapes, it will cover artistic lisence while still conforming to what is realistic or the current art direction of the piece and finally its something that I think is cool and when I find myself tearing my golden locks out it keeps me coming back.

So yeah, basically as you will see I have gone for this ork conversion of a space marine land raider and if I am not correct, a chopped up rhino tank as well. If you are familiar with warhammer stuff feel free to skip this next bit.

(Read only if you have no idea what this is).
In a short sweet summary, its a war vehicle that is comprised of many different parts of machineary into something of a crazy ass tank thats far larger and different in terms of asthetics etc. Think of it as a pimp my "tank" but there are no 18" subs, spinners (unless saw blades) or swade headliners ;). This particular tank is made by a species called ork who take other speices/armys vehicles and change them to their needs. Please look up land raiders on your own search engine to see what the original looks like.

Here is the main reference picture I am going by.
109955_md-Battle%20Fortress,%20Conversion,%20Land%20Raider,%20Orks,%20Super-heavy.jpg