Home Unreal Engine

Lightmap (Patchy/Bleeding)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Yuke polycounter lvl 5
Hi all!

I've started a new project where I'm creating a street scene inside UDK, I've never done an environment before and also never really used Lightmass.

So I read up on the layout of the UVs, looking at the 3DMotive Tuts and such but I'm still confused when it comes to the padding of the UVs (1px, 2px, 4px?) and why I'm still getting bad shadows and obvious bleeding.

Here's an example of the first UV Sheet I used and the errors inside UDK:

30s9f8m.jpg

2zt8uxe.jpg

I then tried to add more padding in order to stop the bleeding but got just as bad results:

2mmea6h.jpg

jjsjnk.jpg

I'm quite confused as I've looked at various different assets from inside UDK and even on the UDK site where they talk about Lightmaps and their UVs seem to be much more tightly packed and receive much much better results.

I'd really appreciate any feedback on this because it's been driving me mad for a couple of days now, I seem to even be getting errors with some even more basic shapes. Thanks :)

Replies

• alifarsangi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    alifarsangi polycounter lvl 9
    from what i can see, u have too many uv islands on ur lightmap channel which cuase some unexpexted result ! perhaps reducing uv islands can help to fix the problem.
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Yuke wrote: »

I'm quite confused as I've looked at various different assets from inside UDK and even on the UDK site where they talk about Lightmaps and their UVs seem to be much more tightly packed and receive much much better results.

It's your modeling that's wrong. Not your unwrapping.

As it says on UDN it's better to model your meshes as a contiguous mesh with no open edges so you can lightmap them with fewer UV islands and not have to worry about bleeding. You should be able to model your window so it's a single UV island.