Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Art test

hello guys,

recently i was given a test by a game studio to make this asset.I did my best and came up with this asset in under 72 hours as that was the limit.

Unfortunately, i wasn't selected but still want to improve myself further.

please, it's my request to all of you to crit this asset of mine and tell me it's shortcomings.It had to be under 250 tris but i made it in 238 tris.I had to make the DAMAGED CRATE.

Thanks a ton for your inputs.

I have rendered this image in Marmoset.

Replies

• Mordin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm no expert, but I'll tell you my thoughts.
    Your model looks very straight sided for a damaged crate. I would have tweaked it a little with a lattice in maya (not sure what the equivilant is in max) or something to just deform it a little. You could have cut a few bits out of the mesh to make the silouette look broken. add some triangle cuts to the edges at the top. I dont know what size texture you used, but the bottom of the crate looks like it's at a different resolution to the rest of it. Looks blurry. Could you post your texture flats so we can see how you laid out your textures?
    Its a good effort for 72 hours though!
  • odium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    odium polycounter lvl 18
    72 hours? Thats... A huge number of hours for such a small prop? Wires and texture flats would help, as this looks atm like a crazy bump filtered item and not a sculpted/sub-d mesh.
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    i think you overused filters. the reference looks like it's mostly hand painted, including the damage. whereas your finished asset seems to have noisy overlays on the entire texture.

just my $0.02
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15