Home Technical Talk

UDK Ios / Lightmap issue

Hello Polycount !
I'm a student in computer graphics and my last job is to create a little game on UDK ios for Ipad2 with some friends.

However, we get some lighting issue when we export our work on Ipad
Everything works right in the mobile previewer and in the viewport (obviously).

9fbd58ee336e58bb3009e93d32344tt.jpg

d89c30b1e0dba29b1bafc524d5749tt.jpg

But once we cooked the game and test it, we get this :

fb70f516fea324ea3b4bd4d9f9dcdtt.jpg

Look at these crappy shadow on the metal bar to the left ='( There are a lot of places with that kind of problem.

I heard that when you do not render your lighting in "production" quality, the engine gives your the poorest quality for your lightmap. But the lighting you can see is render in production.

So, now, I think that what the mobile previewer show me is completly false. Do I have to improve the padding of my mesh ? It is better to give it a bigger lightmap ?

360d614e1347fd582aa7d77a453f8t.jpg

Thanks for your answer.

To complete my message, Here's some screens of the work we already did for the project ;)

8423b7042ae030ab4ddeebaa5d761tt.jpg

d962a23d2fc23baf2acb0c5168b04tt.jpg

ba6a76201b35c7a7a14309eca97batt.jpg

Thanks for your attemption.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    This looks wonderful. I can't really tell what the shadow error is. Can you circle it, or provide a closeup? Yes, more resolution will usually help fix shadow jaggies, but you have to be careful of the download and memory costs. Sometimes though you just have to live with some crappiness when running on limited hardware.
  • hoenheim
    Yeah, sur ! It's here :

http://uppix.net/3/e/0/83bcec8af8b72aabfe884c663eafb.html

I'm sorry, only my friends have an Ipad, so I can't make you an other screen today ='(