Home Career & Education

HEY, I am studying to be a 3D artist in the gaming environment and i need some infoabout theindustry

Pradz_00
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Pradz_00 null
so i am 21 right now i am studying a game art and design course that basically lasts for one year and i have no clue what they are gonna be teaching me but i have little experience in maya and still developing my 2D art  , what i am worried about is that after reading and seeing all the videos or notes about people talking about the gaming industry being harsh environment to work in with people working 100hrs per week and having no work life balance or him running them selves off caffeine , as much as i love modeling , texturing or creating stuff i dont like the idea of crunching it out every time .... if anyone does work as a artist in the gaming industry pls tell your experience working as one  

Replies

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle
    It really depends on the studio and their culture. I've worked in a studio as a scripter/designer where I never had to do overtime (I think I maybe stayed an extra hour on a couple of occasions because I wanted to finish something off before going home) and neither did any of the artists that I worked with. Equally, I've been in a situation at a different studio where there was pressure to work more hours for no pay. I think there's more of an awareness now though within the industry regarding crunch and the damage it can cause and I have been noticing some studios even advertising themselves as being anti-crunch (this is in the UK though, I am unsure of what the situation is elsewhere).

Not all studios are the same so I think it's a case of researching the studios you're interested in and finding out what their approach is regarding working additional hours.
  • Bletzkarn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6