Home Career & Education

Beginner studies?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
DinkleDonker polycounter lvl 4
Feel free to redirect me and delete this if a thread already exists. I'm a very new artist hoping to dive into modeling, mostly for environments. I understand how to use the basic tool sets of maya, but I find myself reading up on projects and tutorials and not having a clue what they're talking about. Also I run into issues modeling and am unable to correct the problem because I don't understand the solutions I find searching online. Basically I was hoping someone could direct me to any quality sources for study. I don't want to repeat QA on forums for every mistake I make and can't figure out on my own. Textbooks, courses, pretty much anything that will give me a grasp of the terminology and necessary procedures ir troubleshooting needed to successfully model. Obviously much of this comes with trial and error and practice. Just hoping for a solid base to start from. Ex: I've run into a LOT of issues with non manifold geometry, but still after research, run into it time and time again and lack understanding of what it really is and how to correct/avoid it. Again, thanks and feel free to close this thread if this isn't the appropriate place.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Have you fully completed a beginners guide to Maya tutorial? There are plenty to choose from, and they go over a ton of stuff. I've also taken this course on Pluralsight/Digital Tutors called Professional Tips For Modelling Complex Shapes. It was really great.
  • DinkleDonker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message