Home Career & Education

How to write cover letter if you are self-taught junior 3D artist?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
skycity02 polycounter lvl 7
Try to apply for opened game prop position, but not sure what to put in the cover letter. I am a self-taught junior artist. I know there are talented artists studied by self and landed the job successfully. They always said the quality of the portfolio is key to entry, but they never talk about the cover letter. Does the HR ever look at the cover letter?  Is there any tip that you pros can offer? 

I used to work as a production artist or graphic designer. I quitted the job to pursue the dream of 3D. I studied and created my portfolio during one year of full-time study at home. Should I say something about this experience in the cover letter? 

Any help is greatly appreciated and merry Christmas to all of you! 

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    The cover letter is you trying to sell yourself to anyone looking at your resume and portfolio, including HR. It should be specific to the studio and the job posting, don't be too generic. If your past work experience is directly relevant to the job posting, mention it in the cover letter, otherwise don't (but of course leave it in your resume). 

• JamesMeader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesMeader polycounter lvl 9
    I have a funny thing with cover letters so don't take this as advice but more like just an opinion you could learn from if you want to. 

I very rarely write a rather long cover letter because for me I feel like it's not really the thing that a HR recruiter is going to focus on or get lacthed on to.

It's all about the portfolio firstly and than the CV and the experience ect.