Home Technical Talk

[Photogrammetery] Building a 3d scanning rig on the cheap - Work in Progress

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
shrogg polycounter lvl 12
Hey all.

Been a long time since I posted here but finally due to downtime at work I can build the 3d scanning light sphere (among other things) that I have been planning for quite some time!

I work full time as an environments artist in film, And photogrammetery is a massive part of it, I mainly use Reality Capture for my scans, due to the cheap but powerful nature of the program, it has its kinks but the results are awesome.

I have gotten quite far so there will be a few images in this initial post, however I will try my best to answer any questions you may have about photogrammetery or my methods in subsequent replies.

Anyway, enough of an intro.

The idea:

I want to build a small photogrammetery studio for shooting small to medium sized objects (Rocks), with the goal of a fully automated turntable and camera shutter and a really nice rock library.
My idea is based around a half sphere of lights, producing enough light to uniformly cover my target.

The photos will be shot on either a black or solid blue background (for plants, leaves and branches for easy masking)

I ultimately want to rebuild the dome to use polarized lights, however that will require a lot more thought.

My gear:

I am using a Sony RX100 IV, A really tidy little camera, great for me as I can carry it everywhere even when not intending to photoscan (Gotta live your hobbies, right?)

I made a simple model of my idea, which was thrown out of the window as soon as I stepped into a hardware store.

I worked out that it would be more efficient to purchase some cheap PVC pipe and strap LED strips to them, connect them at the top with some form of cylinder and mount the camera in the center. A trip to the hardware shop got me all the equipment needed at under 35NZD