Home Technical Talk

MEL Materials/Textures

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
Hey everyone, this is my first time posting in the tech talk section. I've been messing around with MEL Script for some time now and one of my buddies suggested showing some of my code to a larger audience to receive better feedback.

I don't necessarily want to learn MEL thoroughly, but it's nice to know enough to be able to enhance my pipeline and get rid of those pesky annoyances that slow things down. That being said, sorry if my code is messy or inefficient. I'm looking for feedback on the general idea of the script, ways to condense/improve code, and whether or not something like this already exists.

I have recently become sick of how Maya handles materials. Max's is so much better, with just a Maps dropdown with all the values and settings right there.

I didn't bother looking up whether a plugin or something already exists for this problem. I'm sure there is, but it's fun to learn how to make my own stuff.

Below is a script I made for automatically applying, naming, and opening the file browser for my selection. I made one of these for each outColor channel I use most, like spec, incandescence, diffuse, and transparency.

$object = `ls -sl`;
proc string findShape( string $object )
{
if ( `objectType $object` == "mesh" )
return $object;
string $shapes[] = `listRelatives -children -shapes -path $object`;
if (`size $shapes`)
return $shapes[0];
else
{
warning "Multiple shape nodes detected!";
return "";
}
}

////Define Assigned Material
$matSelect = stringArrayRemoveDuplicates(ls("-mat",listConnections(listConnections("-type","shadingEngine",`ls -sl -o -dag -s`))));

////Create file node & rename
createRenderNodeCB -as2DTexture "" file "";
$matNormal = `rename ( $matSelect[0] + "_Normal" )`;
$matPlaced = `listConnections -t place2dTexture $matNormal`;
select $matPlaced;
rename ( $matSelect[0] + "_NRM_2D" );

////Create Bump Node & rename