Home General Discussion

Does a good 3D Artist need to be a good 2D Artist?

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Let me clarify that thread title before I ask this;

From an industry point of view, does it matter if an Env Artist is terrible at painting/drawing Environments, or if a Character Artist is terrible at drawing/painting characters?

The reason I ask is that I am pretty terrible at painting environments, but I'm pretty happy with my 3D skills. I'm ok with painting textures, and 'painting technique' in general. I studied traditional art at school, and learned a lot about colour/lighting theory in my degree, but when it comes to actually painting what you might call a 'finished piece' of a landscape, or environment, I'm terrible. And quite frankly, I don't really enjoy it either.

I see so many great Env Artists, one example, who are wonderful painters too. Likewise with character guys, another example.

I'm getting kinda hung up on it to be honest... it feels like something I 'should' be able to do, and it's making me feel inadequate as an artist, despite the fact I'm happy with how my other skills are going.

Let me also say that I can understand the importance in distinction between art theory, and traditional fundamentals, as well as things like anatomy and form knowledge for character guys, and actual skills to paint 'pretty pictures'. I think it's obvious that any artist needs the fundamentals down, but I see so many artists who are great at both, that I wonder whether those skills are necessary also.

Feel free to offer some comfort in the form of your fantastic 3D work next to you sucking at 2D.

Replies

• Bigjohn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bigjohn polycounter lvl 11
    I don't see why it would be a requirement really. A lot of people use that as a sort of a litmus test, like if you know 2D stuff, that means your 3D is that much better. But honestly, that doesn't make sense to me.