Home Technical Talk

Zbrush Displacement Bake troubleshooting

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
Hey guys,

I think I got myself into a pinch... I made the lips a separate UV shell than the surrounding mouth (didn't feel like fighting UV Layout at the time :() and I'm not sure how to work out the kink it's causing without redoing all my sculpting. I'm fairly new to ZBrush, so any sage advice on tools or methodology would be great. I also think it may be a slight edge flow issue there because a couple of those faces look like their being bent at the tri awkwardly near the corner of the mouth where the issue is occurring. Even if I were to retopo that part, I can't think of any other better way for the edges to flow at that point. Looks legit, but it's causing issues still.

See the attached image.

I'm trying to avoid re-UV Mapping it because that would mean I have to redo my sculpting, right? Would that plugin, GoZ, help with something like this then? Could send it to Maya from ZBrush, export from Maya to UV Layout, do the UV's proper, import it back, send it back to Zbrush? :poly122:

Alternatives? Thoughts?

I thought about how it could be that the base mesh doesn't have enough detail to take the bake well, but after I tried doing a quick fix in photoshop on it, I saw that it's primarily the way I did my UV's.

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    I'm trying to avoid re-UV Mapping it because that would mean I have to redo my sculpting, right? Would that plugin, GoZ, help with something like this then? Could send it to Maya from ZBrush, export from Maya to UV Layout, do the UV's proper, import it back, send it back to Zbrush?

If you export the lowest subdivision, change the UVs, and then reimport it, it should simply update the UVs and preserve all the sculpting.
  • mdeforge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sounds good, thanks.