Home General Discussion

Need advice! =)

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
Hey guys, as some of you know I used to work at Evolution Studios (UK, I'm from Sweden) as a Environment Artist Contractor, I was there for about 10 months and now I'm working as a contract Environment Artist at Sony Liverpool. (Just started this Monday)

Now to the thing, I've been looking for permanent positions as well because let's realize it, it's a hassle to move from studio to studio all the time. I got contacted by a Swedish iPhone game-developer and will have an telephone interview with them.

What I need advice about is: Would you go for it? If I got offered a job, it'd be in Sweden (I wanna move back someday) and it's a relatively safe job etc. I know I want to work with AAA-games and I know that I someday want to work in Sweden for one of the game-devs there.

- Would you guys go for iPhone game development when you originally used to work with AAA-titles?
(Evolution Studios was my first job after all ie I don't have lots and lots of experience)

What say you? :)

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Shouldn't you at least give some swedish devs like Dice, Avalanche or Massive a try?
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh I have sent my application to them as well, we will see how it goes :)
  • JustinPunio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeh, no one likes the uncertainty, moving from studio to studio.. perhaps taking the swedish job while not what you want, a AAA-game studio, will eventually create an opportunity to move on, as you'll be involved in the swedish industry making more contacts/networking increasing your chances. Plus safe jobs keep a roof over your head ^^
  • Saman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Saman polycounter lvl 13