Home General Discussion

looking for second education as game artist in Canada / USA: Hints?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
noktek polycounter lvl 7
Hello there.
I'm a 25 y/o swiss guy who just earned his Bachelor in Game design here in Switzerland, even thou i'm kind of self-taught. Since the game industry does pretty much not exist at all here and i was not that happy with what i've learned at school yet, i thought i could move to canada or USA for a couple of months to follow some "aimed" courses in order to (you might have noticed) learn some more english while perfecting my skills.

I would say my favourite "field" in the game production pipeline is illustration/conceptart, but i also like how you have to think about how to bring your 2d concept 3d. I do like computers, but id rather draw. Furthermore, there IS hope for a job as illustrator in switzerland, so id rather focus on that, while mastering 3d aswell, "taking it easier". Tough all the sculpting work was done via tablet, i havent been working on 2d stuff in digital form yet ( i like to draw/paint with analog medias rather than digital), but i know i have to learn to do that since everyone else is and it is so much more easy and efficient and blablabla.. (seriously, id really like to)

I do not necessairly want to keep studying, but it is easier to learn a new language without the burden of work/expectations etc. on your back.

While money wouldnt probably be the bottleneck, i do not have that much confidence in schools like Gn*mon or esc*pestudi*s, both of them have stellar rates. But id like to hear opinions on that, too.

I will now post a couple of pictures and the trailer from my bachelor work so you can get an idea of my actual level, and then hopefully give me hints if you have any. I've been doing all 2d/3d/animation/grafical work, while the other dude has coded everything in Unity(and even made an editor for me to work with!)