Home Technical Talk

Advance Normal Mapping in XSI

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
raul polycounter lvl 11
Yo peeps,

I have a series of questions. That i hope to get some answers to :)

I have been using xsi for about 2 years at the place i work at. Is all good, pretty neat software. But now im starting to get deep into normal mapping and wut not. And im having some serious issues. And i cant find any actual tutorials and such.

In max, i can use the render to texture feature and create a cage, and set material ids to make sure that the high poly objects cast in the proper places.

The problem is that i cant find how to do any of these things in softimage. The test subject i am running is as follow.

I have this helmet. A low poly and a high poly.

meshes.jpg

And im also having issues with the normals ( the hard edge deal is messing up the way the edges should smooth ) but that's a question that will come in later.

So far, all i have done, is applied ultimapper to my mesh. I went ahead a made a group called "high poly" and picked it for the high poly source on the ultimapper input. I have given unique uvs to the low poly for quick checking. ( look at pic below)

ultimapper-group.jpg

Right after casting. This what the normal map looks on the mesh.

normal-casting.jpg

Here is another example of another prop i made.
gas-mask_014.jpg

meshes-2.jpg

My solution was to render each piece at a time, which took quite a while. If this method can be avoided in max, i dont see y it cant be done inside of softimage!

As you can see, the normals are being casted all over the place. How do i stop this from happening? Is there a material id control like in max?

While i was doing my goggle search, i found this video. They use something called GPU Surface FX2, but this was before xsi 5. XSI 5 replaced this with the ultimapper.

http://www.vast.ws/resources/xsi/tutorials/Rendering/movies/14_3.html