Home Technical Talk

help about Roadkill UV tools in 3dsmax 2k9

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
boyluya polycounter lvl 10
Ok, I fairly know how roadkill works but only in maya. My problem is I can't get it to work in max 2009 (I just switched from maya to max so I'm a total newb when it comes to max's uv workflow), I always have this error (attached image). I tried to change the path but it still goes back to default one. I know a bunch of you guys use Roadkill, maybe you could help me out. Thanks. :poly121:

Btw, I'm using Roadkill v1.1, which is the free version. Thanks for the help.

roadkill_problem.jpg

Replies

• renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    haven't tried the plugin for max yet but have you tried:
    - working with a poly instead of a mesh
    - checked that it works with the prehistoric max 8?
    - Generating a UV upon your first primitive start model (there should be a tick that says "generate UV's) otherwise you wont have a registered vertex Channel for the UV.

apart from that the window says that it can't temporarily create the OBJ to push it to roadkill,- are you sure that URL exists on your computer? and are you sure you have admin rights as it tries to write data directly into your max8 folder?
  • boyluya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @ renderhjs: Thanks man. I already tried everything you said except for trying it in max8 but still I can't get it to work.

About the url thingy, there's a setting there where you can change the path to save the file the problem is everytime I edit it it just goes back to the default one.

P.S. Thanks for the textools man, such a big help.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    I looked at the script:
    and this should be the spot where it stops for you:
    exportFile OBJFilePath #noPrompt selectedOnly:true