Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Piece

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Popeye9 polycounter lvl 15
This is a scene that I am working on for my portfolio. The shot is from the Unreal Editor. Any comments are greatly appreciated. I will post the texture flats and wire frame later. I wanted to get this up so I could adjust the lighting or any other major flaws before posting the final stuff:)

prelim4lf5.jpg

I have some animated textures that you can see in this link.

http://www.sethwolford.com/room3.mov

Replies

• MachineMinded
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm no pro, but I think you could really spice it up with some trims and additional geometry on walls and ceiling(perhaps even some height difference on the floor as well). And you could try to make the corners somehow more interesting. Some interesting machinery covering the corner perhaps... Or rounding them up or just adding some sort of an support there might work.
  • StJoris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you want to work on levels, then show you have some eye for forms and relations. At the moment you have a block with some props thrown in..? Think it'd be best if you'd just zoom out and come up with some meaningfull low frequency design of the space.
  • Toast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Toast polycounter lvl 11
    Yeah it's nice but I think the lighting is very ambient at the moment too. Those fluro lights shouldn't be illuminating the whole room that cleanly, also some blue red and green etc... on the floor from the computer lights would look nice and some more shadows as well.

Looks good though, reminds me of system shock 2!
  • ImSlightlyBored
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ImSlightlyBored polycounter lvl 13
    about the lighting,
    I'd work on what you have at the moment, and darken some areas and lighten others, make a strong contrast (if that appeals!)