Home Technical Talk

Jagged Normal maps - video card issue?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Microneezia polycounter lvl 10
Hello there,

My GPU fan melted off its construct and careened into my mobo making harsh buzzing sounds during my lunch today. Im not sure if the chip is burnt or not yet, luckily my PC shut down right away... but either way for now, Im 'on-board' with an Intel GPU. Which is altogether hideous.

Im wondering, I just baked a normal map of this pillar, the ornamentation is floating. The normal map went to jaggy city as you can see. Im not an expert but ive made cleaner normal maps with much more organic/ hard to unwrap / complecated cage structures. Its probably because im using onboard video?

I dont know what to root for, not knowing how to do it properly or not being able to make maps at all because of video card burn-out.

oh i just remember, also on the ornamentation I have 4 smooth groups, 1-4. and that piece that has 4 groups is replicated all over the place as you can see.

heres a pic.

normalmapjaggiesed2.th.jpg

thank you!

Replies

• Michael Knubben
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    That just seems lowres to me. Did you try unwrapping it at double the resolution and downsizing? Although at that res, you'll be hardpressed to get better results. What does the normalmaop itself look like? Maybe that's alright, but your onboard can't handle the normalmap at its full res?
  • Microneezia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is the Normal, i rendered out at 1024 sq. I just copied and pasted this from the TGA to a JPG so Imageshack can host.

Do you typically render out at double res and then scale down? Im not sure what you mean by "at that res" what are you referring to, which res wont get better results..

normalmapissuept9.th.jpg
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The detail tiles perfectly, so just bake out one tile into a square normal map, then tile it across your pillar.