Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My First Modular Building

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
timwiese polycounter lvl 9
I got the idea to make one of these after looking at some of the entries into the contests and challenges section.

This is my first try at making something modular like this, and the texture is still very WIP. I have a high poly made of this as well, so far i have only used it for baking AO, but I will be getting the normals from it as well.

My goal for this building is to have it look relatively new and not in a bad neighborhood. so there wont be excess amounts of grime and graffiti.

viewportgrab1-1.jpg

Texture-1.jpg

Any comments and critiques are welcome.

Replies

• Tumerboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    looks like a good start on modeling. I question your Unwrap. While the model chunks should be modular, and tiling is important, I think you should break some things (windows/frames/etc.) out, and give them proper UV space so that you don't get crazy stretching (specifically around the doorway)
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    you forgot the watermark in the 3d screenshot :P
    nice model, the texture still has some little space: maybe some xtra house lights or other smaler stuff?
  • timwiese
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update*

Pic7-1.jpg

I am thinking about what to do with all the dark windows.
    Those are going to be windows with no shades in them so they look strange because you can't actually see anything behind them.
    I am thinking about giving them a slight transparency and just throwing some random props I have made behind them to sort of fake an interior.

Still need to work on a specular map as well.

and some areas that have slight texture stretching i need to fix.

I am also starting to think this could benefit from a bit more grime in the edges and corners, some areas are just too clean.