Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Crit me before its too late please!

Hey guys, some im new the this forum! I saw alot of people talking about it on cgsociety because someone was asking about crits for getting a job, and someone said go to polycount because they will be honest and people on cgsociety will just be nice. So im hoping i can get that here.

So basically I was reading a few of the threads here and saw that people didnt like first year graduates posting trying to get a job... sooo, im a sophomore in college and figure i still have 2 years to work on my portfolio.

Im not exactly sure where i want to go with 3d modeling, ive been doing alot of different things, but im pretty sure i dont want to do low poly games. Im currently at NCSU doing research for rendering engines and raytracing so that may be an option, and im also considering industrial design. I talked to one industrial designer and he said my 3d modeling just seems boring, and to make it more interesting renderings, like different camera angles. Im hoping you guys can give me some suggestions on that front. So far all my models are 3ds max, currently at my research im doing some models in maya which ill post. most of the renders are from last year, unfortunately i havent done any big projects worth posting, its all been small things that have posed different challenges that i learn from . My website is:

http://cadop.info/ComputerModel.html

Thanks!
-mat

Replies

• SHEPEIRO
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    if your not interested in doing lowpoly game art why post here?

also your highpoly stuff seams nicely modelled but they look like renders from the 90s. need better materials and lighting to be anywhere near the competition.
  • SubPablo
    Offline / Send Message
    SubPablo polycounter lvl 17