Home General Discussion

Dyslexia sucks

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Thegodzero polycounter lvl 18
First off dyslexia sucks, it’s genetic and untreatable. Thankfully for me I only have a mild case, saving me from having to be in the "short bus" classes back in high school. Being a dyslexic I have always gravitated towards art, no words or numbers to get jumbled in my brain. I chose game art something I love; it seemed to work around my dyslexia.

Now after being in the industry for almost two years; during that time I have been put on probation once (due to slow progression) and have gotten in all my reviews that I’m not progressing fast enough.

I have come to realize that my dyslexia may be the cause. I have never used my dyslexia as a crutch before (nor do i want to) because I feel it unfair to those who have a more severe case. At the same time I feel that I’m trying just as hard as others around me yet am getting fucking over due to my dyslexia. At this point I feel to inform my producer that I’m dyslexic and what it means would seem like a copout. Like a “oh I can’t run today because I have bad knees, even if I did run last week” sort of thing because I didn’t tell him upfront.

I did tell my lead from the get go that I’m dyslexic but I don’t think he either believes me understands what it really means. I say that because I have done over 90% of the signs in the game. I don’t know what to do. If it was a new job it would be clear cut what to do but being as I have been at this job for almost two years its not.

:Note:
Who ever chose dyslexia as the term for people who have a hard time reading and writing should be shot. I had to copy and paste that fucking word every time.

BTW the mere fact that I'm talking about this freaks me out.

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18