Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game character

Hi
this is the last character I did. It is about 12800tri for the character and about 2k for the gun. I just started to build my portfolio and this is the first thing I came up with laugh.gif I really do hope you like it :-)
I’d like to get some feedback on this because I am still learning and I feel that I could do better than this :/ so please fill free to post any comments on it smile.gif

I hope i did't messedup anthing this is my 2 post here laugh.gif

35fa6259a8a39748.jpg

d23f4408fc933203.jpg

d36db4da30ce4e60.jpg

Replies

• Joseph Silverman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph Silverman polycounter lvl 17
    Normal map is pretty good. Diffuse is passable. Spec is an absolute disaster, and turning what could be an amazing art piece into something really boring and mundande. Restart it, completely (*EDIT: The specular map, that is). Look at some other spec maps (these two from domwar1 are a nice start:
    http://dominancewar.com/1/finals/team_2/7_mrRockstar/4.htm
    http://dominancewar.com/1/finals/team_1/21_mrkite/4.htm ) and make one that looks halfway decent, and you're have an awesome portfolio piece.

Some adjustments on the diffuse to be better for this nextgen stuff map, and a real, well made specular map will make a world of difference.

editedit: I also don't like a face that photochopped on a texture that otherwise looks kinda painted, normally, but I guess it's working alright in this case. Still may wanna see about painting over the face a bit. Especially if you're looking for ut2k4 style, which this reminds me of.
  • Slipstream
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slipstream polycounter lvl 19
    Very much comprised of win dude! She looks like she'd fit right into Unreal 3 grin.gif