Home General Discussion

Making art for ps2 and GC

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
apocalypse polycounter lvl 18
Hi guys, I am basically new to the games industry, I started a new junior position a few months ago and have been assigned to making level props, pickups and recently basic level art (platforms and skydomes).

One thing that frustrates me is that my work never looks right in game. It's pretty embarrassing and frustrating to me. It looks fine in the 3d app but when it is exported and displayed on the TV my work glows and doesn't look like it belongs in the level.

I was just wondering if anyone had any techniques in creating art that will be displayed on the tv and how to get their work to fit better in levels.

Picking colours is the hardest part for me, I think. Any advice would be great.

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Well, can't you get the art assets which area already in the level and use their colours as a guide for what you're painting?

If it fits in with the scene in your 3d app, it should fit in on screen.

Also if your work is glowing and doesn't look right, try to figure out how the TV is making it look different, and paint accordingly (like if it's coming out too bright and saturated on TV, paint darker and less saturated on the computer).

But yeah, just matching the existing assets in your 3D app should do the trick.
  • poopinmymouth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopinmymouth polycounter lvl 19