Home Career & Education

Looking for a rigging mentor

prinn
null
Offline / Send Message
prinn null
Hi everyone!

I've been mainly pursuing vfx for the last year or so, but lately I've been wanting to make the jump into 3D --specifically rigging and animation with Maya. While there are many tutorials out--too many, in fact--it would help me tremendously if there was someone who could guide me on a path. What I'm mainly focused on now is rigging and learning Python in Maya to help with rigging.

When I started learning 3D, I had originally wanted to only learn animation. While this was fun for me for a while, it also meant that I was very limited in the amount of models I could use. So I decided to start learning how to rig before diving any deeper into animation. Furthermore, while learning how to rig, I heard that learning how to use Python/Mel was very important to automate processes and create custom tools for rigging. It's just getting to a point where I think I need some help if I want to concentrate and get something done.

I know that it's a tall order to ask for other artists' time, but I figured that I would give it a shot. There are a bunch of really great videos and tutorials out that like Animator Friendly Rigging and Pluralsight, but it's starting to become a bit overwhelming for me what I need to pursue next. 

Also, I'm sorry if General is the wrong place to make this kind of post. 

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    I can suggest few tutorials till you find mentor :
    The Art of Rigging its old but cover everything you need to know about rigging and mel coding  + a lot of scripts you can learn from
    CGcircuit - The Base Skeleton /CGcircuit - Biped Skinning
    Gnomon Character Rigging Axel/The Gnomon Workshop - Creature Rigging for Production
  • prinn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    prinn null
    I can suggest few tutorials till you find mentor :