Home Technical Talk

Best practice to create good topology

Hello guys,
I'm a beginner, I'm learning 3ds max, I've modeled a simple object and now I'm in the UV Mapping step.

My model has several parts so that together they form the object in question.

Fits the UV mapping of each of them separately using the Unwrap UVW modifier.

Now that you have all my UV, what is the best practice from now on to join these UVs, because each part has its scale and can work in other software like Photoshop, Substance Painter, Unreal, etc.

Do I have to merge all parts using attatch? Or boolean? How do you have more organized my UVs?

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Yeah you should attach them, and organize the uvs. Not sure if it matters for you but you have a bunch of useless geometry (the vertical edges that goes down on the top part, they do nothing), and  the middle part of the stand has some very nasty topology.

Also, next time if you have such a question, please post it in the technical talk, instead of the PP where people showcases wips and finished work.
  • rondinellimorais
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for answering. About a geometry, what vertical edge are you talking about? It's important to me, a better geometry, as I mentioned, I'm a beginner. So please tell me how best still the geometry of my objects.

And sorry for posting here.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Moved to Technical Talk for you.

The purple wireframe is looking poorly modeled, because it has a single vertex in the middle of the surface with a bunch of long thin triangles connected to it. This usually creates shading errors when a surface is lit. For better shading, it's better to have more uniform polygons, like you have in the green parts of your lamp.

To combine the UVs together, select all the models, then add a UVW Unwrap modifier, go into Edit UVWs mode and use the Pack tool.