Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Samuel Gariépy

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi Everyone, my name is Samuel Gariépy and I'm a 3D Artist at my last year of school. I have 10 weeks to do a really big final project. I chose to create the interior of a chaotic and abandonned gothic cathedral fully playable inside the Unreal Engine 4.

The story of my scene :
A man who was being exorcised by the priest transformed himself as a blood starved beast, ate the priest and ran away. The events happened many years ago and the cathedral as been abandoned caused by the rumors about it. We can still se prooves of the murder, like blood and scratches on the ground.

For references about the visual style that I want to achieve, my work is really inspired by the video game Bloodborne. I also analysed a lot pictures of real gothic cathedral to find the repetitive patterns and details.

It's the most ambitious project that I've ever done and that's why I would love to have feedback on my work. It really helps me to keep improving.

Here is what I've done by now :

Cathedral Seat :

You can see more images and learn about my process here

Vintage Seat Cushion Substance :

Also more renders here

Stained Glass Substance :

As always, there's more renders here

You can see my entire portfolio here

That's it for now ! I would love to have your comments on my work and I'll try to keep updating regularly with WIPs. When my gothic cathedral project will be done, I plan to use this thread as a usual sketchbook for all my projects.

Replies

• Samuel_Gariepy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi everyone !

It as been long before posting because I've been working really hard by the past few weeks. My gothic cathedral scene starts to look like something and I keep building it each day.  Today, I want to write about my modeling process to document my progress and also to know if you guys have better, faster and more efficient ways to model.