Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Redoing real time hair for my character

node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
D_Choi node
I recently finished(kind of) one of my character, but I always felt bad especially about the hair. It was done too quickly without proper plan and knowledge. So rather than start a new project, I decided to work on it again, and I think it would be a nice learning process about hair. This time I created a quick sculpt in Zbrush to use it as a guide for the shape and hair flow. Hopefully I will get it right this time. I'll keep update my process whenever possible. 

Replies

• bkost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bkost interpolator
    Hi D_Choi, I'm excited to follow your progress on your real-time hair.

I'm currently studying hair cards as well, I'm following Adam Skutt's general workflow. What about you? Perhaps we can share our best practices (:

Here is my work in progress so far, still fiddling around with "what should my collection of hair cards look like to nail the look". Lots of experimenting left! 
  • jose.fuentes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jose.fuentes interpolator
    im curious to see where you take this as well.  @bkost im also following Skutt's workflow!  Cant wait to see your updates
  • D_Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    D_Choi node
    @bkost @jose.fuentes I applied Adam Skutt's tutorial for my male character :) but I always wanted to find different way to place hair card for longer hair. I found Georgian Avasilcutei Tutorial few days ago and he was using curves to place cards, I still need to find way to apply his way in Maya but I think I'm going to try it.
  • jose.fuentes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jose.fuentes interpolator
    Yeah i saw that too, but i dont use Max
  • bkost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bkost interpolator