Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Learning to draw buildings and perspective with Asian Architecture

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
SgtBabbit greentooth
Hi All!!
It's been an absolute age since I've posted anything. I've been a working 3D environment artist for about 2 years now. My 2D skills however, have always leaned towards characters and portraits. I want to start building a concept artist portfolio, and felt it was time to tackle architecture and perspective in 2D. I have definitely found that my skills in 3D are helping here but I have a long way to go with my painting skills and I'm slowly wrapping my head around creating perspective. 
I'm really inspired by Japanese and Chinese buildings. The colours, the shapes, the symmetry. I always feel a need to give my pieces a purpose, so I think I'll keep in mind my final concept should be a 'tea room'. This project will take me through the pipeline from learning, to practicing and honing drawing in perspective, as well as feeling comfortable gathering resources, brainstorming and thumbnail-ing. I intend to take this project all the way through to one final coloured concept which I may or may not also 3D model. 

All critique and advice would be helpful and appreciated!!

Replies

• SgtBabbit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SgtBabbit greentooth
    I began in my sketchbook because that's where I feel most comfortable when it comes to 2D (I DESPERATELY need a new graphics tablet)

• SgtBabbit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SgtBabbit greentooth
    Staying in the sketchbook I tried to brainstorm some ideas using the shapes and styles that I'd seen recurring in the resources I'd collected. I took these into photoshop just to shade them a little. At this point I wasn't super defining the Tea Room idea, I was just draw-vomiting shapes and what could maybe work and what wouldn't (ie, i probably won't go for a 4 story building, I'd want a Tea Room to feel more intimate than that)