Home Unreal Engine

Tessellation issues within unreal 4

JamieMcAndrew
vertex
Hi all,

I am having an issue with tessellation in Unreal 4. I am relatively new to the engine so go easy on me.

This is the first issue i have come across:

The mesh that this texture is on was built in engine with the UE4 Terrain generator and these gaps seem to appear at the chunk borders (i hope that makes sense). All the texture maps that i am using are tillable. 

The second issue i am having is that at distance, some of the terrain appears to be disappearing,l the mesh itself is still there but some of it is no longer displaying. If i turn off the tessellation and the displacement the issue persists.

This is the material that i am using:

Anyone got any idea what i can do to avoid or over come these issues? Any help would be great.

Thanks

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Enable "crack free displacement" in the tessellation settings, and set maximum displacement to a high value. If things still disappear, you may need to adjust the bound scale of the mesh.
  • JamieMcAndrew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamieMcAndrew vertex
    Thanks for the reply,
    I have upped the max displacement amount (it was on 0 and i upped it to 2), but this seems to have reversed the problem. So when i am close with the viewport camera the landscape disappears and when i am further away the landscape is there. 
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You should set it to a bigger number. at least the same as whats your displacement value. if things diseppears, increase the bound scale of the mesh.
  • JamieMcAndrew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamieMcAndrew vertex
    how do i change the bound scale of a mesh? sorry new to the engine
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message