Home General Discussion

How do you explain a gap in your resume when you take time off to learn?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
poopstick polycounter lvl 3
I'm an aspiring 3D artist, I've been applying for jobs everywhere, had a few interviews and promises but nothings ever happened, I eventually got a job in QA, I was told it would be a foot in a door and I agree. I'm now almost a year into QA and it takes up all my time, I've used the internal applications in my workplace for dev positions with no luck. It's started to feel like this isn't a stepping stone at all.

I want to get out of the job for a while and really hone my skills. What can I put on my resume instead of having a big gap that ostensibly shows that I've just quit my job and sat at home doing nothing?

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    the stepping stone is always portfolio , having connections or starting in a studio in another area will only make it slightly easier . I would definately work on your folio before worrying about your resume, if you work shines i am pretty sure that a gap is fine.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Agreed, portfolio is THE most important thing.

One way to solve the resume thing is to simply add a line item identified as self-improvement. There are many terms to use for this... updating skillset, technical sabbatical, etc.
  • Michael_Ingrassia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Michael_Ingrassia polycounter lvl 5