Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: wileyart

vertex
Offline / Send Message
WileyArt vertex
Hey Guys!  I want to try to create some small environments as well as some cool 3D UI/hologram stuff for VR.  I'm a 3D newbie and this my side project, but hopefully I'll be able to make decent progress.

I'm hoping to learn some of the latest 3D tools and workflows to make something that looks great in VR using Unreal 4 and an HTC Vive. I'm particularly interested in seeing how far I can get using Photogrammetry.

This thread is to log my progress and to hopefully learn from the members in these forums. Feel free to leave any comments or suggestions below! Thanks for stopping by!

I saw a demo on YouTube where photogrammetry was used to create 3D props for Unreal 4. I was interested in giving the technology a try and apply it to VR. I downloaded Agisoft Photoscan and started scanning away.   My first test was my shoe which turned out better than I expected... 

Next, I tried a Papo dinosaur toy and some rocks I found near my apartment... I attached images to show the scale. I took between 40-60 images per model at various heights. They usually take about 2hrs+ of processing on my computer if I don't use the highest settings. All these models are around 10k tris.  They aren't perfect if you look closely... but I think I could achieve better results if I take better pictures and do some texture cleanup afterwards. 

Next I tried some rocks with quick normals maps made in CrazyBump...

That's it for now!

Replies

• WileyArt
    Offline / Send Message
    WileyArt vertex
    Over the past 2 weeks, I've been trying to learn how to create PBR textures for my models. I  dived into learning 3D Coat & Quixel DDO.  I also found this great GDC presentation on how Photogrammetry was used to create the environments for the new Star Wars Battlefront game.

Photogrammetry and Star Wars Battlefront