Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My 3d stuff - Learning Maya and Zbrush.

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Tomseas polycounter lvl 5
Instead of making a new thread each time, I thought I'd store it all in one place. I'm still learning Maya and Zbrush and have only dabbled a little bit into texturing.

You can look at the previous few things on my artsation: https://www.artstation.com/artist/tomseas

Any comments and critiques are more than welcome!

Here's some maya practice, a candlestick phone using a mix of ref.

Wires:

If I want to present my wires in a better way, can I do it in keyshot/marmoset? Or do I have to use vray/mentalray? I haven't found a way to get a smooth previs in anything other than maya (understandably).

Most recent WIP/work:

Replies

• Maxilator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Maxilator polycounter lvl 8
    Seems pretty solid modeling wise, The base is way too small though, If you compare the dial to the part you talk into you see that the base should be about 175% of it's current size. Chord looks too thin as well, easiest way to adjust that would just be to move vertices along normals. Good job so far!
  • Tomseas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Maxilator: I didn't know you could move verts along their normals. It's pretty cool. As for the size of the base you're totally right. I had it bigger first and it looked funny so instead I tried to fit the size of the dial to the smaller base. Guess I shouldn't have, or more of a middle road.

Some more Maya practice, a nazi dagger. Should've split the sheath into parts instead of keeping it all one piece. And maybe not done the inner part since it's kinda useless. Also looks like I forgot to soften some edges q.q

• Maxilator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Maxilator polycounter lvl 8
    It's a pretty handy tool, you just set axis orientation to normal in the tool settings on the move tool and use vertex selection.
  • Tomseas
    Options