Home Adobe Substance

Flow map painting

hero character
Offline / Send Message
slosh hero character
So, I recently came across this allegorithmic section showing how you can paint flowmaps in substance painter:

https://support.allegorithmic.com/documentation/display/SPDOC/Flow+map+painting

I need to do flowmaps for hair at work so this seemed like a great way to do it.  While I am happy with the results, there were a couple things that bothered me and since I am a novice at SP, I was wondering if anyone had ways to make this easier.  I'll start by describing how I did it.

My basic workflow was to paint flow for a set of strands, start a new layer, do more strands on top, new layer, more strand on top, etc.  I did them as groups of strands to speed up the process.  For one set of cards, I usually ended up with 4 or 5 layers.  You can tell that in the normal channel, they blend together instead of layering which doesn't work for me so I had to export each layer separately, and then layer them in photoshop.  That was issue #1...is there a way to get them to layer in SP in the normal channel?  Issue #2 is that each stroke had a border of the default normal value around the stroke.  I don't know if there was a way to remove this but essentially, I had to erase that from every layer I exported in photoshop.  As you can see, doing this for every stroke is a major pain in the ass.  I'm just curious if anyone more experienced with painting flow maps in SP can help me out.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Jerc
    Offline / Send Message
    Jerc interpolator
    You can make sure the strands don't add up with each other by changing the normal map channel blending mode in the layers to Normal instead of the default NormalDetail blending mode.