Home General Discussion

Best place to learn how to hand paint Assets?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Ladygrace polycounter lvl 5
Hi everyone

I am needing to learn how to hand paint textures for game assets, but i am still learning photoshop and i dont pick things up very well. So i was wondering if anyone has any hints or suggestions of tutorials that may help with this process in learning to hand paint textures.

Thank you :)

Replies

• Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    I am not proficient in hand painting myself, but this seems like good tutorials to me.
    Also like anything else, practice a lot!

https://gumroad.com/turpedo
    http://3dmotive.com/series/hand-painted-enviro-texturing.html
    http://3dmotive.com/series/hand-painted-texturing.html
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    +1 Kelvin's tutorial is great. He shows you every step, explains very clear and there's no fast forward or anything. You get to see everything in real time as he laid down every thing.
  • Odow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Odow polycounter lvl 8
    I am a strong believer of you don't need tutorial for handpaint, at least not those kind, those would mostly only teach you how to copy. To handpaint you simply need to learn your light and color theory, and basic paint skill, then it's just about practice.
  • Fogbrain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fogbrain polycounter lvl 5