Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Making a flintlock? Looking for advice.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Kiyamlol polycounter lvl 12
I am no expert at making guns XD
So I wanted to practice and make something unusual.

So for this project I want to make a flintlock. I love flintlocks!! :)
I would like to model it and render it in unreal engine 4 for some practice, I find it harder to use than marmoset but would love to work with its material editor for some much needed experience.

This is the reference I am working on:

early-german-flintlock-pistol.jpg

Progress:

flintlockprogress_01.jpg
flintlockprogress_03.jpg
flintlockprogress_02.jpg

Forgot the flash pan

flintlockprogress_04.jpg
flintlockprogress_05.jpg

I am not sure if my trigger and ramrod is right. :)

Replies

• GRAT0R
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello, looks like a good start. In my opinion, the bottom facing part of the wood stock and the hand grip, must be round and smooth instead of having this cutting angle. The trigger and the trigger cover should be wider. It feels like you only had 1 side view reference pic and lacks overall depth. I recommend looking for other flintlock pistol references so you can understand this shapes better. The flint mechanism, in the other hand, looks very good.
    Keep at it
  • Kiyamlol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GRAT0R wrote: »
    Hello, looks like a good start. In my opinion, the bottom facing part of the wood stock and the hand grip, must be round and smooth instead of having this cutting angle. The trigger and the trigger cover should be wider. It feels like you only had 1 side view reference pic and lacks overall depth. I recommend looking for other flintlock pistol references so you can understand this shapes better. The flint mechanism, in the other hand, looks very good.
    Keep at it

Hi GRAT0R

Thank you for the feedback :)