Home Technical Talk

How to make scale Armor in Zbrush?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rayle1112 polycounter lvl 6
Hi.

Im a beginner in Zbrush. I'm doing a character which has scale armor. Can anyone suggest me some methods? The tricky part is this kind of armor has many layers that overlap with each other. I'm thinking about Micromesh and Insert mesh brush.

Some references

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    For something like the first image where its covered with other armor, uvs + surface noise should work out good enough. When its not so nicely framed (such as in the last two), you might want to look into using micromesh, or IMM (http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread.php?170167-Insert-Multi-Mesh-Repository&p=965126&viewfull=1#post965126)
  • rayle1112
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid wrote: »
    For something like the first image where its covered with other armor, uvs + surface noise should work out good enough. When its not so nicely framed (such as in the last two), you might want to look into using micromesh, or IMM (http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread.php?170167-Insert-Multi-Mesh-Repository&p=965126&viewfull=1#post965126)

Thank you! Those IMM brushes look awesome! I will try them
  • Lucas Annunziata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
  • rayle1112
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

I have tried that brush but it wasn't working very well for me. It's so hard to connect the strokes together... you can clearly see the seams. I dont think micromesh and noise maker are good ideas for this kind of mesh.

Any ideas? :(

cVtvgfi.png
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator