Home Technical Talk

Texturing a large asset (Student Feedback Question)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
IllusivePixel polycounter lvl 4
Hi there! I'm a student trying to achieve a Halo/Star Wars style look with my textures for my project, but if I'm entirely honest I can't even see where to start with it! Anyone have any suggestions on getting a good metal material, something very sci-fi?
Also, I have a fairly large building that needs texturing and I was wondering if it'd be best to tile the textures or do something more unique, I want to use the least textures possible. (EDIT)

Here's my blog with all my progress, and all the textures I've used so far are not mine as it's just to figure out what kind of look I want. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
http://lvetoretiart.tumblr.com/

And here's the asset, with diffuse only:
tumblr_inline_n3rz92LWV21soknkg.jpg

Here's another one I played with:
tumblr_inline_n3oqd2wQjS1soknkg.jpg

Sorry if it's all quite vague, there's a reason I'm a student, but you can find it all on the blog.
Thank you!

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Something of that scale - if it's to be seen up close - is way beyond your standard asset workflow and well into the approach you'd use on an environment.

If we were building that at the office it'd be large chunks of unique geometry trimmed with instanced objects that all have their own textures.

fwiw I quite like 2 and 3 - you could model around the patterns to get some nice surface details and re-use textures all over the shop to get some variety.
  • IllusivePixel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    IllusivePixel polycounter lvl 4
    perna wrote: »
    A suggestion:

People are going to see your rambling wall of text and just close the tab.

You could simply write that you need suggestions for how to use tiling textures and achieve a halo-style look with your asset.