Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The quite Earth - post-apocalyptic UDK level

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Fisher007 polycounter lvl 8
Hello,

My name is Ákos Halász, I'm currently a student at University of Abertay Dundee in Scotland and just finished my second year on an undergraduate game dev course. This is my first project with UDK and basically the second with 3D modeling. :) I worked on it for the whole year for two one semester module. I used the default vegetation and a few of the built-in stuff, everything else is my own creation. I would be glad to hear what you guys think about it.

Thank you!

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vs00Z7vQdKE"]Postapocalyptic - My first UDK scene - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• shadacer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shadacer polycounter lvl 6
    Good work, I like it. Some of the textures feel a bit flat however. I'm a noob when it comes to enviro though so probably not the best critique.
  • tkfxity
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Overall looks great, scene looks like its setup nice. Here are some things I noticed that might need some work.

The water - The water moves a little too much, also when the camera pans away from the water and starts to focus on the buildings, you can see the water sort of fade away. Also the area where the ground and water meets is all one color. The ground stays static color regardless of being in water or out.

Ground: What I noticed immediately was that the plants seemed to be sprouting out of the ground from nowhere. For example there was no cracks in the street or sidewalk from where the plants might have sprung from. Also the sidewalk was all one color. There was not much variation, like dark or light spots from the dirt and grim collecting.