Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Mars Base

Hey guys been working on this for a bit and wondering if I could get some feedback.

Layout based on a concept by Sam Brown

xfEWLZj.jpg

Z0pxeUa.jpg

mczMCgY.jpg

To Do
-Add Pipes coming out of open panels
-Texture the Wall section with the screen (its just block colours atm)
-Add glass to windows
-Make outside landscape
-Another texture pass across the environment
-Several more lighting passes

Replies

• Wingednosering
    I'm a student myself, so take my suggestions with a grain of salt:

-The Hallway seems very narrow compared to Sam Brown's concept pieces.

-For this sci-fi style, everything should be minimalistic and sleek. Your lights right now feel very boxy and low-tech compared to the rest of the scene.

-You should be playing with the lighting fairly early. I would recommend ditching your emissive lighting (it's expensive and gives you very little control) and instead go with spotlights, since they'll have real directionality (assuming you're matching the concepts). Point lights will wash out the scene.

-The key to Sam Brown's concepts (and many sci-fi scenes in general) is in specularity and reflectivity. For something like this I would actually work with just normals/spec/gloss to begin with and save the diffuse for the very end. Ideally you'd want the diffuse to just be dirt surrounded by a dark/midtone gray. Let your specs and reflections bring out the colour you're after.
  • mats effect
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey guys bit of an update, still not happy with a lot of stuff but feel its worth posting for some external feedback.

I decided to get rid of the outside view for now anyway, felt it was in my best interest to focus on the corridor itself for now.

(NOTE the light models I am using are some default ones that come with UDK. I will model my own once I am happy with the lighting set up.)

p69Q1ac.jpg

vk2mviQ.jpg
  • mats effect
    Options
    Offline / Send Message