Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ceiling mounted turret

interpolator
Online / Send Message
Shrike interpolator
Hey guys,

Since im more of a Graphic Design guy, Im not that into modeling, to be honest the whole subdivision modeling thing is pretty new to me, atleast in practice, I only modeled bad low polys before. (I did a lot of offline rendering tho)

This is my first try at highpoly modeling, (Im not going to bake it) and wanted to do a artwork out of it which is more or less presentable atleast.

Since I have no lowpoly, all materials are procedurial, I used 2 2048 textures for the walls and 3 tiling 1024 for the metals and one tiling 2048 which I painted from scratch for the dark steel (barrel etc)

I plan on doing better materials and getting a laser sensor + camera done, and do a night shot where the muzzle flash illuminates the whole scene alone and maybe get a better background... Im not so sure if im happy with it.

Render and Modeling in Cinema 4D

Turret_New2.jpg

(Without materials) http://s4.postimg.org/v9o9tee5p/Turretv2.png

What do you think ?

Replies

• This_Is_Icarus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This_Is_Icarus polycounter lvl 4
    good model/textures etc. but i have a problem with the fac there seems to be no targeting device or camera/laser etc. how is this supposed to target people or operated by someone if it cannot see :) other then that great :P
  • Shrike
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    well we can pretend its on the left hand side and unseen haha

No i know its missing, I plan adding a targeting module next, just gotta figure out how it should look ; )
  • CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
    Looks good, something about the city in the background looks off to me, as if the two don't match all that well. (mainly the car is bugging me) feels out of place.

Also, is it mechanically functional?
  • thepapercut
    Options