Home Technical Talk

Low poly mountains

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
SaboR1996 polycounter lvl 8
hey, i'm sort of new to the whole polycount forums, so i'm not sure where i should have posted this

I'm also new to to a lot of modelling, mainly 3DS max, i know basics just not working low poly efficiently

i need techniques on creating low poly mountains, mainly for a game i'm going to be working on for the next few months and i need the terrain set out low poly, its going to be a low poly low texture styled game hopefully for PC

I've tried to use height maps, they don't give the best effect in low poly.
I also tried to create my own height maps, and yet again not best of effect

any help would be great!

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    How lowpoly (shader limitations, etc), and what kind of style?
  • SaboR1996
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, my game is going to be quite a large game world, i want to keep the terrain under say something like 2000 (not sure how many i should have, this wont be the whole game world)
    I want it to be quite basic but large
    also i don't really get shaders, i am quite new
    im looking for several different styles, such as like volcanoes, regular snow mountains, quarry type mountains, plain mountains etc
    im not looking for anything over the top like mass amounts of normals and displacements etc
  • Goat Justice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Goat Justice polycounter lvl 10