Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monster Odyssey

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Mr.Ninjin polycounter lvl 7
Hey there people of PolyCount! :)
I'm currently working as a environment artist for a coming game called Monster Odyssey. It's a multiplayer board game for PC where you play with friends, collect monsters and fight with each other. The game is being developed in Unity by a small team of people from all around the globe. I'm now creating this thread to get some feedback on my art seeing as I'm kind of new to the low poly art style with hand painted textures! :poly121:

I'll start by showing of some tileable textures!

Grass:
SO4M8W0.png

Mossy Stone:
2A1ZJ8p.png

Bark:
W5w3uIB.png

Roof Shingles:
FqeHRwA.png

Stucco:
qsNnRBt.png

And a few interior assets:

Cast Iron Stove:
yC2VvGF.jpg

Bed:
kLZ1iyv.png

All feedback is highly appreciated! :)

Replies

• Shyralon
    Offline / Send Message
    Shyralon polycounter lvl 11
    Looks really good, I like the bark texture, nice style :D
  • Mr.Ninjin
    Offline / Send Message
    A new tileable sand texture for a small beach area:
    xgAuj8P.png
  • Xelioth
    I'm new to hand-painting as well, but I'm loving what you've got going here! Nice stylistic texturing. I'm digging it!

Only thing I would note is that the grass doesn't looks quite up to par with the rest of the textures. Not that it looks bad, but it doesn't look as good as the rest.
  • darkreaver
    to expand on xelioth's comment, i don't think the grass should be rendered with those distinct islands.. looks more like fuzzy rocks. I'd suggest making the texture more uniform , with less flat zones.

otherwise, looks great so far...very consistent stylistically, I think. love to see them in action, or in mockup =D
  • DWalker
    The grass texture might work for shrubberies, or over a dense wood.
  • Mr.Ninjin
    Offline / Send Message
    Shyralon wrote: »
    Looks really good, I like the bark texture, nice style :D

Thanks allot! :)