Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Cornfield Environment WIP

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9
I'm a noob to foliage and in my attempt to expand my skillset, I decided to tackle a very organic, very simple scene. It's basically just one plane, one corn stalk mesh and a lot of dense foliage painting. I plan to add more foliage, things like weeds and grass, down the center of the road to conceal the very choppy vertex painting on right now. But for today I decided to put a large focus on nailing down the lighting and feel. All critiques welcome!

Uysv220.jpg

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Plant leaves tend to be translucent. That'll help get rid of the harsh blacks on the corn. Also the scene could use something that gives a better sense of scale, a tractor or trash, or something.
  • poopsterspappy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopsterspappy polycounter lvl 7
    Hey, your sky is way too blown out. Your getting very monochromatic with your corn, some cool ambient light would help alot but your color range in the corn it's self is much narrower than some of the reference photos i found in a google image search... you need variance in your color in the dirt as well, some cool tones there as well .I know you can find photos that refute my claim and will support that your color world is within reason, but for the purpose of pictorial interest pushing the ranges of color, temperature and value would yeild a much richer image. Looks wonderful keep going :)
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Looks like the scene of a nuclear explosion. Even the corn looks like its withering.

I'd try to play around with the colours more. If you're going for a sunset approach, perhaps try and target this.
    i5ab8sb.jpg
  • _DMage_
    Options
    Offline / Send Message