Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK Petrol Station Shaders and FX Scene [Video]

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Kroma! polycounter lvl 9
Hey Polycount, this is my first post here showing my own work, so here goes.

I have created a small scene in UDK for a university assignment, where the aim was to show off complex shaders and particle effects, using things like Mesh Paint, Fresnel, cubemaps etc.

There are still some things I could have done like petrol spills, clouds, drips off the roof and more objects and variation in the scene, but this is as far as I got for the submission.

All feedback is welcome and will assist me in my assignment and the future :)

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkO056LxH90"]UDK Petrol Station Shaders and FX Scene - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• J0NNYquid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    J0NNYquid polycounter lvl 5
    Looks good, I'm not very experienced with shaders and particle effects, but I'd try and include some randomness in how that neon sign throws off the little sparks.
  • Kroma!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kroma! polycounter lvl 9
    Thanks for commenting, now you mention it I think there may be a few too many sparks, or do you mean they should be emitted with more delay between them?
  • Soldeus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Soldeus polycounter lvl 10
    I agree with Jonnyquid, I think there are waaay too many sparks on the neon sign. I think lowering them would greatly improve the sign. The rest looks amazing!
  • praetus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator