Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK - Visual Effects and more . . .

Hey Everyone,
This year I'm currently in my second year of AIE - Game Development Course. I have been working on a game with other students, we are using UDK - Unreal Engine to make our game, and I have been creating some effects. Various effects from Fire, Water to Material Changing effects.
This year is my first year learning UDK and I have only be working with UDk for around 6 months.
Most of the Visual Effects are being used in game, but some we decided not to use because our game originally was PVP but now we have had to go PVE for technical reasons.
Hope you all like some of these Effects I have created, and any crits or comments welcome.
-These are mostly Images, Videos will come later but I do plan to Upload Videos also :)

This is my first Fire Particle, I wanted to start with something simple. I watched many Videos and when I was confident I created this Particle System :

UDK_FireParticle.jpg

For my first attempt I was pleased with the result, still has alot of work that could be done to refine it, but I used this as a starting point.
Unreal Cascade was quite easy to get my head around it, and I picked it up fairly fast, but still needed to learn alot more as the year continued.
I did use the Barrel from the project from a Tutorial Video, the Textures and the Particle itslef I created.

Here is the Material for the Fire Particle, very simple. I have used node based editors before so I understood how to make the Material I wanted and needed. (etc Pixel Depth, Vertex Color, Depth Biased Alpha, Constant Clamp)

BasicFireMaterial.jpg

Still work that could be done, but as a starting point it was nice.

Next up was the Skydome :/ I had been asked to if I could create a Day/Night cycle for our game and I had no clue how to go about this.