Home Technical Talk

Max to Maya: Help Make It Easier

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
Oniram polycounter lvl 16
So I've been using maya for about 3 months now and im pretty comfortable with it.. in some cases i prefer it to max.. but regardless, there are still some small things that i wish i could do but cant. I dont know if its a thing with maya that is just like this, or if i need to change settings.. so thats where you all come in. To preface this.. I HAVE A WORKAROUND TO ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS! so if at all possible, dont tell me how i should do this. :P i just want to know if whether or not what i want is possible.. if its not, tell me so and ill go cry a little and get over it.

I thought id start this thread out pretty light, with only a few issues, but as i run into more ill add them. so here we go.

Issue #1: Beveling

Problem: When i started using maya 2012, bevel worked fine. beveling by an amount of 0.5 (default) would make the bevels land halfway between the original beveled edge, and the outer edge containing the face. now it draws over and i always need to adjust the amount to somewhere around 0.3 to be inside the face.

BevelIssue1.gif

Issue #2: Beveling (cont.)

Problem: If i have a skewed shape, and i bevel, the bevel will not conform to the outer edges. I forget if max does this but regardless.. if its possible, id like it to be able to do that.

BevelIssue2.gif

Issue #3: Scaling

Problem: While i understand negative scale is the way to go for mirroring (an issue ill address later), when using the widgets i do not want that. If i want to flatten a face or pair of edges/verts (without the aid of scripts), can i?

ScaleIssue1.gif

That is all for now. Like i said, pretty light. More will definitely be added as i come across them, and anyone else who has recently made a switch from max to maya, feel free to post your issues here so it can make the transition better for everyone. :D

Replies

• poopipe
    Options