Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Jto

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Justinoaksford polycounter lvl 6
Hey Polycount! I'm a concept artist and I've recently decided to start learning how to build 3d assets.

This is a quick concept for the first character I'm going to build. I've found a mentor at work who is going to help me out week to week, so he told me to whip one up this weekend. The amount of research is piss-poor, so if you guys want to do sketchovers to help me with the design, it would be really appreciated. It's currently some sort of WW1-fantasy snow trooper guy- I didn't really allow myself time to create a good story around him, and the design suffers as a result.

Anyways, I'll shut up now! 3d updates in the days to come, along with other sketches I may do! Thank you for stopping by :)

ahLOT.jpg

Replies

• Maks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Maks polycounter lvl 14
    Hi Jto,
    the Concept is awesome. I love his face.
    I'm looking forward to see him in 3D.
  • Justinoaksford
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Building my first ever basemesh! Obviously heavy WIP, learning alot as I go along. Any suggestions, especially at this stage would be great!

qA8gD.jpg
  • Justinoaksford
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I have built and UV'd out the basemesh, and am now in zbrush :D! This isn't going to look like the concept too terribly much right away, right now kind of focusing on learning the tools and having fun, so wasn't using the concept for reference for the head right here :P

JmrW7.jpg

Thanks! Also, here's an alligator study.
    fpQlb.jpg

And here's a herpy-derpy study of someone I hope you will recognize...
    fJ9yw.jpg
  • Justinoaksford
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Standard fare- getting comfortable with the interface finally. Think I'm gonna do alot more anatomy studies this way :D

QjBpQ.jpg
  • Cybersam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cybersam polycounter lvl 8