Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio- Ali Khalil

starfrogsplash
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
starfrogsplash polycounter lvl 6
hi guys

I wanted to get some critiques and feedback on my portfolio, (and stop lurking around which I tend to do)

here is the link
http://allykhalil.weebly.com/

I know a lot of people have said the same story, so sorry about this, but here it goes!
I graduated in 2010 and ever since then I have been building my portfolio and trying to break into games as a junior artist, whilst looking for jobs to support myself, 2 years later and not getting many replys which means I am simply not good enough to land a Junior position, so I am going to keep on trying to get better.

and here is what i am currently working on
http://allykhalil.weebly.com/work-in-progress-blog.html

I am really grateful for everyone's feedback

Replies

• Ravanna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ive seen worse from people who were in junior positions, but that 2-3 years ago. With less and less places available due to downturn, competition is fierce, and as u have to work for a living it leaves less time to practice.

Website is clear and simple, i'm told most employers prefer that sort of thing.
    Perhaps some more high detail Zbrush sculpting, and throw some low poly in there?

(also, uni of derby '10, did u know matt syrett?)
  • megalmn2000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    megalmn2000 polycounter lvl 13
    I think there's too much stuffs on your portfolio. Nothing bad, but for a junior, people would prefer to have less works to show. So yeah, keep 5-6 of your very best works and impress them! :) Also, I would take out the WIP section, people don't like to see unfinished works. And this may be personal, but I prefer to have your real picture instead of a picture with a dog head, especially if you want to present yourself to professionals. Good luck! :D
  • nathdevlin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message