Home General Discussion

I know everyone hates though what should I do with my life threads

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
ZacD ngon master
So here's another one...

I started on the animation side of CG, with basics in flash then onto Maya and then XSI, where I've been getting my feet wet with low poly (hasn't been easy). But I've taught myself for 3 or 4 years would like to start using it or taking classes.

I'm a college freshman in community college thinking, "where do I want to go with 3D? games or VFX or animation?"
I took a step back and I'm taking 9 hours of art classes 2 days a week, been doing 3-4 Photoshop studies a day and I've been learning a lot.

The thing is, the animation program at my college sucks (I'm not in it, seen it though),
but do I transfer to a art college and do both traditional and digital art (and then what about costs)?
or do try to email local studios (in Kansas City) to land a job now?
or do I stay here at community college?

I kind of wish I went to a real university (lack of friends right now bugs the hell out of me). But it's too late to go back, so it is now where do I go from here...

Of course here's my rough thrown together portfolio.

http://zac-d.blogspot.com/

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd suggest finding a decent traditional art school and studying there. Don't bother with the digital art school/programs they're usually crap. Just keep working on the digital art stuff on the side, you're already fairly far along and you can learn the rest of what you need to know here on Polycount. Also, don't forget to have fun while your at it :)
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    I was thinking about applying to KCAI (32K a year?!), gotta see how much I can get in scholarships though, thanks for the advice. I have 2 friends going to scad right now. they got decent scholarships, but I probably could have got more, but I avoided that because what I've heard.